Tuesday in a Strange Land

The second morning I have woken to the alarm in a hotel room.  It is startling to me to wake to an alarm because I never sleep long enough to hear it.  But for two mornings, I have.  Weird to sleep better in a room that is not my own and not particularly comfortable or plush.  I think it might indicate how tired I am.

Today is another day to sit in a conference room all day.  Oh my.  It is interesting and the leader of the exercise is really good – and really easy on the eyeballs.  My boss got to watch what it is like when you have been associated with people for close to 20 years.  She still doesn’t get it.   Thank God I got to have lunch with women my age who I have known for many years – and my boss got to see that.  She is not here today, so I will get to relax a bit.  There is a reason God has put us together, someday I will know what it is.

I won’t be home until maybe 9 p.m. tonight.  It will be a long day.  I was invited to join the group for something after today’s work day, and felt it would be ridiculous to decline.  So it will be a late day with a two hour drive on the end of it.

Let it begin right now… with breakfast in the hotel dining room…

The Lord is always close, being at the root of our being.  Yet we must experience our relationship with God between the poles of distance and closeness.  By closeness we are strengthened, by distance we are put to the test.  — Romano Guardini

 

 

This entry was posted in Gratitude, History. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday in a Strange Land

  1. shadowlands says:

    I will pray for your boss, now.

  2. Syd says:

    Hope that you have a good time.

  3. Pam says:

    Oh girl, sometimes I can’t help but wonder what in the world God is thinking.

  4. Kelly says:

    You made me want to go and find my copy of The Lord, by the author of your quote! I bought it and never read it!

Leave a Reply

