There is Recovery

I think this child could ask me for anything and I would try my level best to provide it.  She is my youngest granddaughter.  The daughter of my one and only son.  I don’t know how this much love can be contained in one nana’s heart.  And yes, she now says “nana,” and knows it is me.  She knows my house and said “nana!” when she and her mom drove up today.  And then I got to take her home to her dad, who has just returned from a 2 week trip in a southeastern state.  As we drove up to her house, she said “mommy!  daddy!”  Oh goodness.

I spent the early evening on the road.  After having a nice dinner with my boss, I am settling into my hotel room, hoping to sleep soon.  It shouldn’t be much of a problem, after getting up this morning at 4, and taking care of an active child most of the day.

I am so grateful to have these relationships.  I have not a doubt in the world that my son would not trust me with his beloved daughter if I were drinking.  I have not a doubt in the world that I would have told my boss to “f*** off” a couple of weeks ago when she told me that.  But instead, I get to have a lovely Sunday with these people.

I don’t have my Bible with me – what’s a blogger to do?  Oh, I have a Bible app on my phone….

If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, cannot love God whom he hath not seen.  –1 John 4:20 (American Standard Version)

This entry was posted in Family, Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to There is Recovery

  1. Annette says:

    Aren’t we blessed we are learning a new way to do life?

  2. Mary LA says:

    Even a Bible app when you need one! That child is so lbeautiful and as she grows, she will love her nana more and more

  3. shadowlands says:

    She is so beautiful, God bless her.

  4. Pam says:

    Ahhhh…enjoying the good stuff!

  5. Hope says:

    She is so blessed to have you as her nana. I love how recovery can change our relationships for the better. I’m quite sure I would have alienated everyone in my life by now without recovery.

  6. luluberoo says:

    A face that is meant to be smooched!

  7. She is just so pretty. I love children.

  8. Syd says:

    I’m glad that you love this grandchild. Memories of my grandmother are ones of kindness and great love. Your granddaughter will treasure those memories as long as she lives.

    • That is always good to hear. Both of my grandmothers were very elderly and extremely remote. I cannot imagine that I ever even was hugged by either of them. It is always good to hear about memories of warm and loving grandmothers.

Leave a Reply

