In a Summer’s Day

Roses before the Theotokos

On a beautiful summer morning, the sounds of suburbia coming through my window.  A few cars, a few dogs barking, and birds singing.  Suddenly my bird feeder has been taken over by large doves.  It had been dominated by small finches – I love those little birds.  I am not so enamored of doves.  They are of the same family as pigeons, I am not sure how doves got such a good reputation.

I have a meeting later today at my old hospital with my old boss.  Followed by lunch with my old, old boss – who I love, love, love.  Normally if I am home at this time in the morning, I have already checked my e-mail and voice mail and jumped right into the work flow.  Today, for some reason, I am sitting here in my pajamas.  I will start work at 8:30, as I have been since that fateful day last week.

Yesterday I heard from a sponsee who hasn’t been heard from since May.  I was starting to really worry about her.  She says she is fine, just suffering from working in the heat and living in her own skin.  God bless her.  I call my sponsor at least once a week,  I have other sponsees who call me every day.  This one only calls when she is deeply in need, or to arrange to have dinner.  It might sound odd to say she is my dearest.  I don’t want to say “favorite,” just dearest.  I have sponsored her for 10 years I think.  We have been through the steps, repeatedly.  We have been through the big book, word by word.  We have lived through break ups, job troubles, PTSD, and other life events.  She is like family to me.

Well, the phone has begun to ring, unfortunately everyone has my cell phone number.  I guess I better get on with the day.  And thank God for it.

For you formed my inward parts, you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you for I am wondrously made.  Wonderful are your works!  — Psalm 139:13-14

This entry was posted in Friends, Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In a Summer’s Day

  1. Annette says:

    Bless those special sponsees.
    I’m glad to hear you are sitting around in your pajamas….personally, I think that is such a great feeling. Have a great day today seeing your old friends and knowing how loved you are.

  2. Dave U says:

    I think doves got a good reputation only because they’re white. Boy, that sure sounds racist, eh?

  3. Syd says:

    If I can sit around and be comfortable, I’m happy. Dressing up in a suit is about one of the worst things for me. Hope that you have a good day.

  4. Pam says:

    I have a few “dear ones” that I believe sponsor me at times.

  5. Mary LA says:

    That icon is so lovely. And I prefer finches to doves as well. Have a good day —

Leave a Reply

