Saddy Mornin

I got my eyes examined and ordered a new pair of glasses yesterday.  My prescription has changed so much, it is a miracle I can even see with my 4 year old glasses!   The style of these glasses is a departure from what I have worn ever since I have started wearing eyewear in 1995.  I hope I don’t hate them.  They were the only frames under $900. I liked.

My daughters have asked me to join them today at the Renaissance Festival.  It is not my cup of tea, but I think if your adult children ask you do to something with them, you should do it – and enjoy it.  And when my twin daughters (one a tattoo covered recovering alcoholic / addict, the other a super strait laced career woman) want to spend a day together, I thank God for miracles.    We went 2 years ago, and all had a wonderful day.  I am greatly looking forward to this day.

My life feels radically different than it did a week ago.  And to think, all it took was a note from my boss saying “f*** off!”  It was like a slap in the face, to wake me from my fugue state – turning my life over to “managing well” and trying to win the approval of my co-workers and boss.

Perhaps there is a better way – we think so.  For we are now on a different basis; the basis of trusting and relying upon God.  We trust infinite God rather than our finite selves.  We are in the world to play the role He assigns.  Just to the eextent that we do as we think He would have us, and humbly rely on Him, does He enable us to match calamity with serenity.  — big book, p. 68

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saddy Mornin

  1. Annette says:

    What a beautiful I day I can see in my mind, all three of you very different women having together. While different you have a common thread running between you….you are all *for* each other. What a glorious thing that is.

    Recently my 11 year old asked me to read The Hunger Games Books with her “and we can talk about them Mom.” She is on book 2 and I am supposed to start book 1 asap. The Hunger Games are so not my thing…..but it won’t be long and my little one will have a time of NOT inviting me to share her world with her. So you can bet, I am reading The Hunger Games, like it or not!

    • I read the Hunger Games series, just so I would know what people were talking about. I actually enjoyed it, surprisingly. You might too. Your daughter will need someone to process the books with – they are really scary.

  2. luluberoo says:

    Ha,ha the Renaissance Festival–one year I got dragged to that, and the “sorcerer” lady had a real snake draped around her neck. Gross!

    • There were so many freaks there. But I looked at them and realized they were really enjoying themselves. The weirdest thing was seeing a woman I used to work with – my age or older – dressed in one of those wench frocks, red velvet with the corset, etc.

  3. Syd says:

    Hope that you had a good day. Nice to be with your daughters.

  4. Jessie says:

    I used to LOVE renaissance festivals. Still have costumes and swords to prove that fact … of course they’ve been sitting in the backs of closets or in attics (depending on the house) over the last few years. LOL

    I hope it was fun. It certainly is, if nothin else, a great people watching experience.

Leave a Reply

