Bike to Work Day

That little “vase” is actually a very old bottle that was meant for Holy Water.  People tend to bring me “Catholic stuff” they don’t know what to do with when their parents die, this Holy Water bottle was one of those gifts. At my old job, I had a desk drawer full of it.  When I left, I bequeathed it to another Catholic.  I was very grateful to him for taking it.  One interesting thing was an “extreme unction” kit.  I can’t imagine purchasing such a thing, but someone did and apparently whoever it was is now deceased – I wonder if the priest used their kit as he gave the last rites.

Today is Bike to Work Day.  I volunteered to be the coordinator at my new place of work.  And then discovered you can’t send out a building wide e-mail without running it through a committee.  There is no wellness committee to finance a few bagels and bottles of OJ.  One of my co-workers volunteered to co-coordinate it with me, and she has done all the work.  Getting the Public Information Officer to send out a few e-mails, enlisting local businesses to donate coffee and a few rolls.  Etc.  Next year she can coordinate it all by herself because I think this is unbelievably cumbersome.

But I am riding in for the first time.  She and I are riding together.  It should be fun.  I need to be out of here in one half hour and I am still in my nightgown.  I better get going.

I hope you all have a wonderful day.  God can help us all with that.

A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.  — Proverbs 15:1

This entry was posted in Faith, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bike to Work Day

  1. luluberoo says:

    Hearing so much about the fires, and thinking of you.

  2. Mary LA says:

    Ride carefully.

    I have a few Catholic nuns as good friends and they shower me with prayer cards, missals, rosaries, beeswax candles, tiny wooden icons, scapulars, lives of the saints, holy medallions, Marian prayers — everything finds a place in my untidy study,

  3. Dave U says:

    Happy pedaling!

  4. Syd says:

    Nice that you can ride to work. Be careful though. Hopefully, it is more bike friendly there than here. A good friend was killed on his bike about a year ago. I still see the white bike with all the names written on it when I go downtown.

Leave a Reply

