The Dawn of Another Day

I’m driving to work this morning since I need to leave at 2:00 to go to a dentist’s appointment.  I have a temporary crown that needs to be replaced with a real crown.  I have not had the time to go in since I started my new job – in January!  I decided I had to make the time and just do it.

I think I have turned a corner at work.  And even if I haven’t, it won’t hurt me to think I have until it is proven otherwise.  This has been one of the more challenging things I have gone through in the last 18 years of my life.

It was 18 years ago that I divorced my husband (after having been separated for a year).  It was when I went back to the church.  It was when I started working at the place that was so good to me for so long (17+ years). It was when my life calmed down.  I used to say that turning 10 years sober was like being in the house in the Wizard of Oz, tumbling and turning in black and white, then suddenly landing in a sunshiny world of living color.

I had my first real success at work there.  I often wondered if it was only there that I COULD be successful.  I came to believe that was silly.  And then when I changed jobs and felt like I lost my mind, I wondered again…. was it some magic that hospital had?  But my new boss reassured me and her boss reassured me, and they said they knew I was dealing with the most difficult people who were making my job nearly impossible.  I think I have invested enough time and work into making a working relationship with these impossible people.  I know the problems can’t be over, but at least, for now, it is workable.

So, off into the world I go.  And I have a cute new hand-knit scarf/shawl that I finished last night to wear today!

Make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love.  — 2 Peter, 1:5-7

This entry was posted in Dental, Faith, History, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Dawn of Another Day

  1. luluberool says:

    The passage is beautiful. I think these scriptures at the end of your posts are a nice touch.

  2. Syd says:

    You have met your challenges well. Today is another good day to be alive and sober. Have a good one, MC.

  3. Dave U says:

    Beautiful picture. Love those flowers.

    I believe your new job has been the challenge you’ve been lacking. I hear a new “you”. The running and physical exercise is good but can’t last forever. At least not the way you’ve been doing it. But your job and its challenges are forcing you to the next level of service. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Dave, thank you so much for this comment, it really means a lot to me. I hadn’t thought of this transition as a good thing – but it probably is.

  5. todayhashope says:

    I just wanted to tell you that I love your blog, and your recovery blog as well. It has been beautiful to read how you handle your struggles. It has made me feel not quite so alone. When I’m having a bad day I can always “crack open” your blog from where I last left off and find an epic and very human adventure that is sobriety. I’m so glad to know that even those of us with so many years of sobriety are still down to earth enough to admit when life is less than rosy. Thank you for your honesty.

Leave a Reply

