Saturday all Day

This is my icon after working on it all day today.  It always hurts to cover the face with sankir – the green paint that is used to cover all the flesh areas of the icon.   I bought my very own pigments today!  I will be able to paint at home.  I will just need to mix the pure pigments with an egg emulsion and water.  I have to figure out how to make it with vinegar instead of wine – because I am not having wine in my house.

I am going to my son’s house for a barbeque tonight.  His in-laws are in town and they wanted to see me.  I like them a lot.  It will be nice to be there and be with my family.  Last week I thanked my son for always including me (which is very inconvenient since his father won’t be in the same zip code as me).  Without a pause, he said “You are our family!”  Phew.

I had intended to go to Mass tonight and a meeting tomorrow morning.  But I will go to Mass tomorrow morning and catch a different meeting.  I love Pentecost Sunday and actually wear red to Mass.  A lot of people do.  But most people don’t buy clothes specifically for liturgical colors… I have done this.  I have green “ordinary time” sweaters.  I have a sweater that I chose because it is “Gaudete Sunday” rose.  I have a whole assortment of Advent and Lent purple.  Maybe this is just one more of my vanities.  Well, tomorrow I will be at Mass with my Pentecost Red Manicure.

I went my running group for the last time this morning.  I am not sad about it either.  I may change my mind, but for now, I don’t want to get up long before dawn on each and every Saturday morning and drive across town to run.  I also don’t want to pay $450. a year for the privilege.

So, I may have time for a tiny tiny nap before I make a salad to bring and head out the door.  I am going to try anyway.

“When the day of Pentecost had come, they were all together in one place.  And suddenly a sound came from heaven like the rush of a mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting.  And there appeared to them tongues as of fire, distributed and resting on each one of them.”  Acts of the Apostles, 2:1-3

This entry was posted in Icons, Mass, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday all Day

  1. Syd says:

    I hope that you have a great evening with your family, M.C.

  2. sherryd32148 says:

    You know, my prayers the last few days have included a request to “fill my heart with the Holy Spirit”. I had no conscious idea that Pentecost was approaching. I guess once a Catholic, always a Catholic.

    And I love that you have clothes that match the vestments!

  3. luluberoo says:

    MC, I will depend on your blog to keep me informed of the Catholic holidays. When I was very little my grandmother would take me to mass, and the memories fill my heart with warmth. I didn’t understand what was going on then, but now I know she gave me a gift–she instilled in me a reverence for something greater than myself. She showed me there is a refuge from pain and difficulty…in faith.

  4. Lou, What a beautiful comment. I hope some day my granddaughters can say the same.

  5. Mary LA says:

    That icon is so beautiful — and I like to think of you so attuned to liturgical colours, I have always loved them too and out in more tropical Africa, the churches are filled with the brightest flowers in red and purples and gold.

  6. How wonderful it is to have the Holy Spirit :)))
    Thanks for sharing

  7. 🙂 I love that description of Pentecost. I think of it every time a sudden storm blows up.

Leave a Reply

