On the Cusp of a Weekend

This rose is in my garden right now.  It is called “love,” and has three roses in full bloom and several buds.  I have never had so many roses on my little patch of earth!

My sponsor and her husband had said they might be coming to visit this weekend, so I cleaned, washed sheets and towels, and got things ready for house guests.  They are not coming.  I have a three day weekend ahead with little to nothing planned.  That might be good.  I will go out with my running club.  I will go to my icon workshop.  I will go to Mass.  I will try to get to at least one hour of Eucharistic Adoration.  I will go to confession on Saturday afternoon.  I want to see Men in Black.  I want to do an open water swim.  That’s it.

I am working at home today.  I had actually hoped that it would be an easy day, but it is not going to be.  I actually ended up working for a portion of my vacation day yesterday.  Crises, phone calls, and e-mails.  I scheduled two phone conferences for today.  I can do that from home – I have my work computer and big notebooks full of my files.  Oh, my stomach hurts so bad!

Tonight I am getting a hair cut and color.  I have been seeing this stylist for maybe 10 years, she will be surprised when I tell her to dye my hair my natural color because I don’t want to do this anymore.  I no longer want to be a 60 year old woman with flashy highlighted blonde hair.  My natural hair color is light brown, with natural highlights if I get out in the sun.  I used to think it was “mousy,” but I am ready for mousy right now.

This seems to be my mantra right now.  “I don’t want to do this anymore, I’m done.”  I have to find new ways that are appropriate for who I am today.  I am not who I was even a year ago.  Life changes and evolves.  We get “stuck” when we don’t want to acknowledge that and go with it.

“Rejoice always, pray constantly, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

This entry was posted in Hair, Mass, Roses, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On the Cusp of a Weekend

  1. luluberoo says:

    Are you my lost twin?? I went back to my “mousy” brown a few months ago, I was tired of the time and expense to maintain red hair.
    I’m very happy to be at this new place, not just blog wise. It was time for a change. I think many of us were feeling it, it was just hard to take the plunge.
    You sound happier (babies do that, don’t that!), and I love this blog.

    • Thank you Lou. Actually, my new color is reddish – it had to be or the platinum blonde would have turned green. I like it dark and I am thinking in a couple of months I can stop this nonsense! I am happy to hop on the winds of change rather than fighting them. Glad I have company!

  2. Shadowlands says:

    i’m mousey too but last week I put a whole load of blonde highlights in! i do feel better blonde (or is it blond, I can’t spell for toffee)?
    Your rose looks beautiful. really truly beautiful.

    Have a good weekend and enjoy your swim!

  3. sherryd32148 says:

    I seem to change my hair and it’s color about every 10 years. Now I’ve also gone back to my drab (mousy?) hair color for the same reasons.

    But I’m thinking I may have to get my red back, It made me feel sassy and I don’t think I’m done being sassy yet.

    GORGEOUS rose!

  4. Syd says:

    Enjoy the long weekend, M.C. It sounds as if it will be fulfilling for you.

  5. Thanks Syd. You too!

  6. 🙂 That sounds like a full weekend even with no real plans. 🙂

    Enjoy and be well! ❤

  7. Lois Barrett says:

    Hi Mary Christine, I’ve been reading your blogs for a couple of years, and enjoying your posts so much. I feel like you’re a kindred spirit, but ahead of me on the path of sobriety and life. Your post about your hair and “not wanting to do this anymore” got me thinking, and I ended up writing a post on MY blog about you. I hope you like it. http://www.hellojubilee.com/2012/05/mary-christine.html

  8. Lois, Goodness! You are entirely too kind! But I appreciate your kind words. I will look forward to reading your blog. Mary

  9. patty says:

    That is the most beautiful rose!

Leave a Reply

