By the Seat of My Pants

I took a tiny break yesterday, went upstairs to the roof of my building, bought a Diet Pepsi (which I swore off at lent 2 years ago and I am slowly beginning again), and sat in the sunshine for a moment.  If I had any time, I would have edited the photo so that you could better see the Cathedral in the distance.  It is reassuring just to catch sight of it in the middle of a hectic day.

Last night my most difficult sponsee came over.  I told her we were going to do what I did when I was at the nadir of despair at 5 years sober.  We are going to read – outloud – together – every word of the big book and do what it says as we go along.  It takes about six months, but at the end of that time, we will have done every step.  It was an awakening for me when someone helped  me through the big book at 5 years of sobriety, even though I had “worked” the steps many times by then.  This woman is badly in need of a change.

This blog is definitely not ready.  I am finding WordPress so difficult to navigate, I was so used to blogger.  But it has many features that blogger doesn’t and I think that once I learn it I will love it.  I haven’t got my links up, but maybe this weekend.

I am flying by the seat of my pants in so many ways.  I have no time anymore.  I hope I will get to the blog this weekend and get it fixed up so it is ready for prime time.

Come Holy Ghost, Creator Blest,
And in our hearts take up Thy rest;
Come with Thy grace and heav’nly aid
To fill the hearts which Thou hast made,
To fill the hearts which Thou hast made.

This entry was posted in Sobriety. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to By the Seat of My Pants

  1. Syd says:

    I read the Big Book with my sponsor. It was such an eye opening experience and continues to be every time I am in a Big Book study group.

  2. Dave U says:

    One thing at a time.
    I love reading the Big Book. We read The Doctor’s Opinion this morning. I am re-charged!!

  3. Kary May says:

    I have a fondness for Catholic hymns, this will be a beautiful earworm to carry with me today.

  4. sherryd32148 says:

    If you’ve read my blog MC (which I know you have…at least a little) then you know how much I love Catholic hymns. I had the tune in my head as soon as I saw the words. Thank you.

  5. luluberoo says:

    Ms. Mary Christine–stop apologizing for the state of your blog. It is just fine, and your lack of whatever you imagine you are lacking is not impacting your message at all.

    XOXO

  6. I’ve been doing this with my first sponsor since I first got sober, every week a group of us gets together and the big book is read aloud, the information is disseminated in the form of questions. It’s magical what I hear and what I realize in this process 🙂

Leave a Reply

